With the latest increases announced in California and Oregon, 18 states have either increased or announced upcoming tax increases on fuel. The increases vary by state, but range from 0.3 cents in Maryland to 20 cents per gallon in California.

Other states that have announced increases are Indiana, Illinois, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Michigan, Nebraska, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, West Virginia, New Jersey, Indiana, and Montana. The tax hike in California takes effect Nov. 1, and Oregon has plans to raise rates starting in 2018 with increases scheduled through 2024.

Legislators across the country are taking advantage of the lower fuel prices to tack on the tax increases to help pay for infrastructure or encourage a reduction in greenhouse gas emissions. You can find a chart of the gas taxes by state here.